|260mc|Photographing The Face

Our first cinematography task of the year was to create a 60 second short using a single shot centered around the notion of Photographing the Face, without any dialogue.

This exercise was given to us to make us pay attention to the details involved in creating imagery, and how we use the imagery we have created to craft and deliver our narrative. I liked this exercise as it restricted us to focus specifically on cinematography as the means of communicating to the audience. I believe this pushed me to think more creatively about how I want to compose my imagery to create an impact and delivering a message.

In my long portrait Stop I wanted to try and make the camera a participant. In it we see the character sitting on a staircase staring directly at the camera as passers by walk past, giving little looks to the camera as they go by. The aim was to contrast the ‘mad rush’ of people dashing through and peaking at the camera as they go about there day to day with the protagonists longing stare, sitting in one place, comfortable.

Sometimes we all get caught up in the practicalities of life that we forget what we really want from it in the first place, and sometimes by just stopping to reflect or appreciate things, we can help make sure we don’t lose sight of what we want, who we are or what we care about thus prevent getting swept up completely in the less meaningless things etc. This was my thinking behind my long portrait and the reasoning behind trying to get the presence of the camera to influence the characters.

Below is my Photographing The Face project.

 

 

This project was filmed on a 50mm lens on a canon 700d using only natural light as it is a personal and emotionally evocative piece of work so wanted to create a visually natural and soft light. I also graded the picture to have a warmer colour temperature so as to further deliver this effect.

I feel that if I was to change anything if I was to make this again I would maybe consider composing the image differently, having it focused more on the expression of the character’s face.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

